DX Day

happy to be dx

The day you are diagnosed with Ankylosing Spondylitis…it’s as though time stands still. 

 

For me it was a whirlwind of emotions.  I was thrilled to know what my pain was caused by but I was terrified of that long complicated word.  I only partially heard the rest of what the doc was telling me because I couldn’t entirely focus as my mind was running wild with what if’s. 

 

When I get to this point I have a tendency to shut down.  So that’s what I did.  I went back within my shell to try and figure out what I felt and what to do next.  I knew it wasn’t going to be easy but I had no idea what I was in for. 

 

Slowly I began to look around for info.  I came to the Spondylitis Association of America.  They had so much information for me it was wonderful and overwhelming at the same time.  Once I felt I knew the facts I started checking out support groups.  Some Spondy’s seemed to be greatly impacted by the disease and some seemed to be getting along just fine.  They were all so strong and they inspired me to come out of that shell. 

My mind was made up!

If I had all these wonderful people to help support me I knew I’d be fine.  I was going to do the best I could and not lose who I am to this disease.  I accepted what I couldn’t do any longer but I never gave up.  I found new ways to do the things I always loved.  New ways to continue to live my life the way I always had.  It has not been easy and everyday I’ve had to find ways around something but I can beat this disease, and I know you can too!

Tell me what you think...

