Meditation

sould-knows.jpg

Meditation is something every Spondy should do. Especially those that have pain caused by the disease…hehe! It saved my life when I had to stop all treatment due to complications. Literally saved my life! I was not able to function.

At first when I was told to try it I had this false image in my head that I’m sure many of you share but you don’t have to sit on the edge of a mountain in an awkward position listening to something hypnotic to meditate. But you can! And you will most likely love it! I started out with little moments after each yoga session just lying down listening and feeling my body. I told my mind to relax my painful stiff joints and you’ll never believe it but it did! I began doing this more often. Just pausing all life and going within myself and listening to what my body is trying to say. Before I knew it I could calm my mind and body. 

Meditation is not something I can teach you. I can share what works for me but this is a personal connection you must form and only you can do it.  I’ve used meditation videos like the one here but mostly I just stopped in my tracks with no aids. If you have some happy place you can go to then by all means use that.  To get started just try sitting for a few minutes in a quiet space everyday.  Get into a comfortable position so you are not distracted.  Begin shifting your attention to your breathing.  Try to ignore all else.  This will most likely feel awkward at first and you will find yourself unable to focus but just keep at it with gentle patience.  You will learn to focus your mind in time.  Then you can start to focus your mind on the tension you are feeling and begin to relax it away simply by directing your mind.  You can practice meditation at anytime.  When muscle spasms strike or one of those stray nerves shoot up my spine I simply stop and focus all of my attention on what is happening.  It may sound odd but it works.  I can hush the internal screaming by listening to it and letting it go.   Meditation has taught me to listen to my body, respect it, and then let go of all that is hurting it. 

Here is a list of some of the benefits of meditation.

  • Reduces pain and muscle tension.
  • Enhances Immune System
  • Reduces depression and anxiety.
  • Helps with stress.
  • Reverse heart disease.
  • Helps with weight loss.
  • Energy boost
  • Sense of calm and peace.
  • Increases blood flow.
  • Helps thought control.

I could keep going but I’m sure you get the idea.  The thing is with all the methods we are offered to fight A.S. this is the only one with NO harsh side effects.  It also costs nothing.  You can’t say that about too many of our treatment options.  Your mind is one of the most powerful tools you have. Meditation is about learning to use it.  I sincerely hope you all will give it a try! 

Do you meditate?  Will you share how you do it and what you think about it?

13 responses to “Meditation

  1. Pingback: The Good, The Bad, The Spondy | The Spirited Spondy·

  2. Pingback: Pain Management | The Spirited Spondy·

  3. Pingback: Brain Fog | The Spirited Spondy·

  4. Pingback: Homeopathic Options | The Spirited Spondy·

  5. Pingback: Day 7 | The Spirited Spondy·

  6. Pingback: Accepting loss | The Spirited Spondy·

  7. Pingback: Mission COMPLETE | The Spirited Spondy·

  8. Pingback: Miracle Cures | The Spirited Spondy·

  9. Pingback: Stress | The Spirited Spondy·

  10. Meditation can work wonders. I wanted to mention a great website/app for those wanting some direction with it. It’s called Headspace and its a year long daily meditation course. It’s helped me get started and now I look forward to my daily sessions. Thanks for sharing this topic. 🙂

  11. I do meditate. I think a very important point is to begin BEFORE the pain. It is much more difficult to become familiar for the first time with something when pain is raging through your body. If you are familiar with the technique that works for you before a flare, it is easier to meditate and relax your mind.
    I meditate using my breath. I first relax all of my body beginning at the crown of my head, work my way to my toes. Once my body has become soft and supple ( well closely) I then bring the focus to the breath in the nostrils. As only an observer I watch my breath and as thoughts come by, I let them float on by like clouds in the sky. I don’t finish the thought. I do this for as long as I like.

    • What wonderful advice Jacquie! I totally agree with starting before the pain. I also do the head to toes and start over as many times as necessary till I can relax it away. 🙂

Tell me what you think...

