Day 3

Movie It or Fuse It

 

Getting comfortable while exercising with Ankylosing Spondylitis sounds like an impossible task but it can be done and it will be easier with the right gear.  No matter how you choose to move it wearing the proper attire will make a huge difference.  You don’t have to spend a fortune either, by avoiding the fancy sports shops you can score some great deals.  Look at the type of material for clothing and be sure to check the reviews.  Shoes are bit trickier as everyone’s feet are different so I can tell you I love Merrell’s but my husband loves Keens.  Getting orthotic inserts can help those with plantar fasciitis move comfortably.  This should give you an idea of what you need to get started in general.  As we keep going I’ll point out what helps me with each particular exercise routine.  I’d love to hear what works for you! 

 

Yoga is for everyone!Here is a slide of 12 Yoga poses for inflexible people.  Now before you look at them and think it’s impossible realize they are tiny healthy people and you are not going to look like them, you may one day with hard work but you are not going to start out with that kind of range of motion.  It will take time but with daily efforts you will get there.  My yoga instructor always says that there is no perfect pose for everyone the only perfect pose is the one that fits your body.  When you hit the point of pain you’ve gone too far.  You want to find a point that pushes your body but that you can breathe through comfortably.  I use a thin mat for standing poses and a thick mat for those that require me to get on the floor.  You can just as easily use the bed.  You can use a chair to stay balanced and keep you from having to bend further than you are comfortable with.  I use bands to help reach body parts that just won’t get that close to me anymore.  Yoga is one of the most adaptable forms of exercise yet so many have this misconception that only skinny hippies can do it.  I’m no skinny hippy and it helps my body more than any other routine I do so please…give it a try!

 

 

Awareness Challengemri dx

Help spread the word about the importance of MRI’s in early diagnosis of Ankylosing Spondylitis.  Take this article into your doctor’s office next time you visit. 

 

 

Fighting Inflammation In The Kitchen

 

Ginger Apple Muffins

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tell me what you think...

