What Happened

taken so much 

 

I was lucky in that when my pain hit it knocked me down hard and fast.  I worked for doctors at the time and they knew right away what tests to run.  I was diagnosed quickly however the merry-go-round of treatment that followed went by painfully slow.  Then, finally, I found my pain starting to plateau.  I looked up and realized five years had gone by.  What I had known as my live was gone.  My son had started school, I had a beautiful baby girl about to turn two and it all felt like a foggy dream I couldn’t quite remember. 

 

At that moment I realized how much Ankylosing Spondylitis had taken from me.  I chose right then to not let it take anymore.  It’s not easy.  I fight everyday.  Ankylosing Spondylitis has given me chronic fatigue that robs me of my energy.  I feel like I’m climbing mountains everyday to do even the simplest of things.  The daily pain makes it hard to focus on anything.  A healthy diet and exercise go a long way but I know nothing will ever make me what I was before.  I am still me though.  I just had to find ways to do the things I thought I couldn’t.  I search for ways to enjoy what I have instead of focusing on what I don’t.  That’s how I’ve found peace with this.  What about you?

Tell me what you think...

