The Good, The Bad, The Spondy

We all have good and bad days … then there are Spondy Days.  Those days that you feel pain in areas you didn’t know you had.  When the thought of sitting up makes you cringe and so stiff standing up straight is not an option.  I’ve been dealing with this a lot since the fall.  It seems all winter is just a solid flare anymore.  I am starting to see the light at the end of the tunnel.  It can be hard to remember that it will end.  The saying “this too shall pass” kept running through my mind but I didn’t believe it.  In the midst of the pain and stiffness I couldn’t see beyond that moment. 

 

Meditation helps a lot when the negative starts creeping in but even for me, the eternal optimist, it is depressing.  I remind myself it could be worse and I’ll feel better when spring comes but some days it’s just not enough.   

 

I did find a few things that helped this winter so I thought I‘d share.

  • Heated Mattress Pad –using low steady heat is amazing!  I wish I would have started it sooner.  I can actually stand up easier in the morning than I can in the evening after sitting on the couch.  I even read an article about a study that was done proving just how much it can reduce inflammation if used long term. 
  • Heated Salt Water Pool –changing up my exercise routine to one of the most joint friendly helped me keep moving.  I stumbled across a salt water pool and it was AMAZING!  If you are lucky enough to have one near you give it a try.  Moving is still better than not but it’s certainly more challenging.
  • Respect –If you’ve read any of my post you know not a lot slows me down.  I’m quite stubborn, oh um I mean Spirited, but in the winter months I have to allow my body time to warm up.  The stiffness grabs hold of my joints and I can’t straighten any part of my body.  It can take a bit to get up off the couch and then to stop hobbling along all hunched over. 

 

Surviving those Spondy Days that can so easily turn into weeks and months is the most challenging part for me.  What helps you survive those cold winter months?

 

THROUGH HELL

 

 

 

 

Tell me what you think...

